Ladies, two words: Solo Travel

Solo travel is  a fascinating thing to experience. I think  every girl should experience travelling alone at least once. And I have got to try it finally on my recent trip to Bantayan Island.

If you are a Filipina like me (who probably has conservative-over protective- strict parents), you probably heard the ever famous, “Bakit mag-isa ka lang? Baka mapaano ka”(Translation: Why are you going alone? Something bad may happen to you.)

Dear beloved parents, grandparents and aunties, seriously, I love you to death but the moment I step out of the house I am already prone to some sort of accident, we all die at some point, I want to live.

IMG_2224.JPG
Best companion ever: my panda neck pillow

To many people, solo travel, for women especially, is dangerous. But trust me, it isn’t. The world is teeming with beautiful and SAFE places to travel alone for females.

I know the world can be an intimidating place and it might be too big for a little Asian girl like me. Being careful and not doing it because it’s “not 100% safe” are totally different. But guess what, I LOVE defying stereotypes so I will drag my pink luggage wherever the hell I want.

The universe is not out to get you

Ranting aside, solo travel is, again, not dangerous and not as complicated as people deem it to be.

You will face rational and understandable fears like safety, unwanted attention from men, eating alone and getting stranded. And it’s okay, but the thing is there are solutions to these setbacks.

I got cat called and stared at while traveling. The thing is to keep cool and look mataray. If people are not leaving you alone, call out the attention of a nearby guard, conductor or staff.

There were times I wanted to lose my cool cos locals could not understand me, but I set aside all that and powered through. Don’t let one set back ruin the rest of your day. Fix it then move on.

Being alone will boost your confidence

Silly as that may have sounded, it’s true. Booking a flight and packing your bag is the first step.Planning and researching is exciting. As much as it will pressure you because everything is in your hands, imagine the pleasure of organizing a trip on your own will be yours to enjoy!

After my travel,  I felt empowered and was utterly proud of myself for being able to survive the trip.

You are the captain of this trip

You get to create your own schedule, relax when you want, be social whenever you want or as introverted as you want. You don’t have to think of another soul’s safety or well being other than your own. To top it all off, traveling solo will let you meet tons of people. ENFP wins!

You’ll be surprised how good you are at taking care of yourself

If you did your research, planned smartly and packed confidence and courage, you’ll be surprised of how far you can stretch your comfort zone and how resourceful you can be. I really thought I would tear up at some point because the travel was so stressful and I had absolutely no one to talk to. But when I got there, I realized I am pretty much capable of not getting myself killed.

 

Traveling solo is an eye-opening experience that feeds your passion. So go and book that flight girl! Cheers!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. All of this are so true! Lol. I’ve just come from first ever solo trip from Taiwan and it has opened my eyes to many more possibilities of solo travel!

    1. Joanna L. says:

      Cheers to you and to more adventures! I haven’t tried going on an international trip alone but hopefully next year. 🙂

      1. It’ll be great! Good luck with everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

